RAG ‘N’ BONE MAN – Human




Rory Graham better known by his stage name Rag’n’Bone Man is a British singer-songwriter from Uckfield, near Brighton.

At the age of 15, he MC’d with a drum ‘n’ bass crew, using the handle Rag ‘N’ Bonez, inspired by watching repeats of the 1970s British sitcom Steptoe and Son.

After testing out his rap skills at open-mic hip hop nights in Brighton and bingeing on UK hip hop artists like Roots Manuva, …

… he started going to London to a night at Brixton’s Jamm called Slipjam B.

There, he hooked up with a couple of performers, Gizmo and DJ Direct, and they formed a crew called The Rum Committee.

Over next few years, they supported hip hop artists Pharoahe Monch and KRS-One at Brighton’s Concorde 2,  …

… and release their own album through Bandcamp: it was through this that Graham learnt the rudiments of studio recording.

Parallel to all this, in private, he worked on his potential as a singer.

At 19, encouraged by his father, he sang at a blues jam in a local pub and the feeling of getting such a positive big reaction had a huge effect.

Graham duly self-released a vocal EP called Blues Town.

Doors started opening and he was booked for acoustic gigs, including one supporting Joan Armatrading at Brighton Dome.

Around 2011, Graham started working with UK hip hop label High Focus, releasing a number of recordings with them.

Shortly afterwards Graham began to collaborate with record producer Mark Crew, who at the time was working on Bastille’s debut album Bad Blood.

In 2013 Graham signed a publishing deal with Warner Chappell which meant that he was able to give up his job …

… working as a career for people with Asperger syndrome and pursue his music career full-time.

In 2014, working in collaboration with Mark Crew, Graham released an EP, Wolves through Best Laid Plans Records, …

… containing nine tracks with guests including rapper Vince Staples, Stig Of The Dump, and Kate Tempest.

The follow up, in 2015 was the Disfigured EP, also released through Best Laid Plans Records.

Lead track “Bitter End” was supported, then play-listed on BBC Radio 1 Xtra, and made it onto BBC Radio 1‘s ‘In New Music We Trust’ playlist.

His first hit single “Human” was released on Columbia Records  in July 2016.

It currently ranks at No.1 in 3 European countries including Germany and No.2 in 2 others.

Who wrote the song. It will be followed by his debut album with tracks produced variously by Two Inch Punch, Jonny Coffer and Mark Crew.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
 and Metro Lyrics

Discography


EPs

  • Wolves (2014)
  • Disfigured (2015)

 

Singles

Year Title Peak positions Certification Album
BEL
(Fl)

GER SWI
2016 “Human” 30 6 22 TBA

I’m only human
I’m only, I’m only
I’m only human, human
Maybe I’m foolish
Maybe I’m blind
Thinking I can see through this
And see what’s behind
Got no way to prove it
So maybe I’m blind
But I’m only human after all
I’m only human after all
Don’t put your blame on me
Don’t put your blame on me
Take a look in the mirror
And what do you see
Do you see it clearer
Or are you deceived
In what you believe
‘Cause I’m only human after all
You’re only human after all
Don’t put the blame on me
Don’t put your blame on me
Some people got the real problems
Some people out of luck
Some people think I can solve them
Lord heavens above
I’m only human after all
I’m only human after all
Don’t put the blame on me
Don’t put the blame on me
Don’t ask my opinion
Don’t ask me to lie
Then beg for forgiveness
For making you cry
Making you cry
‘Cause I’m only human after all
I’m only human after all
Don’t put your blame on me
Don’t put the blame on me
Oh, some people got the real problems
Some people out of luck
Some people think I can solve them
Lord heavens above
I’m only human after all
I’m only human after all
Don’t put the blame on me
Don’t put the blame on me
I’m only human
I make mistakes
I’m only human
That’s all it takes
To put the blame on me
Don’t put the blame on me
I’m no prophet or Messiah
Should go looking somewhere higher
I’m only human after all
I’m only human after all
Don’t put the blame on me
Don’t put the blame on me
I’m only human
I do what I can
I’m just a man
I do what I can
Don’t put the blame on me
Don’t put your blame on me
SONGWRITERS
RORY CHARLES GRAHAM, JAMIE HARTMAN
PUBLISHED BY
LYRICS © WARNER/CHAPPELL MUSIC, INC.

















 

Leave a Reply

